Massage Regulation In The USA

Massage regulations differ from state to state but most places require some type of licensing or registration. Believe it or not some places do not require any registration. However in most areas, if you lack a license, practicing massage therapy is strictly illegal much of the time. A person also needs a degree of common sense and skill to be a massage therapist as the profession requires a sensitive touch and knowledge of body parts.

For example, in Alabama a mere 650 hours in a board approved school is required to become a masseuse. In other places like New York, 1000 hours of training has to be accomplished before you are awarded your license. Rhode Island requires one to be proficient in first aid and CPR along with obtaining a license, but fortunately only 500 hours of schooling is required. In states such as Minnesota, Wyoming, Kansas, and Oklahoma, not having a state license isn’t a big deal at all.

At the end of the day, no matter what state you live in or what the laws are, massage therapy still calls for some talent, skill, and training. There is an art to practicing the profession and if a wrong move is made, or the person isn’t familiar with the human body, injuries and pain could result. Lawsuits would possibly follow if the person you were working on happened to be in a foul mood that day.

If you are planning to become a massage therapist or know someone that is, make sure to consult an experienced person in the profession for advice. Find out what your state’s regulations and laws are and what schools offer for training and tuition. Massage therapy can be an enjoyable and rewarding career but there is no one way to be taught.